- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img
HomeGlobalBrexit: Air France Makes Transit Visa Compulsory for Nigerians Travelling to UK...

Brexit: Air France Makes Transit Visa Compulsory for Nigerians Travelling to UK from January 1

- Advertisement -spot_img


By Babajide Okeowo

From January 1, 2021, travelers from Nigeria and certain countries are to obtain the Air Transit Visa, ATV Air France- KLM has disclosed.

This development has become necessary for these citizens to pass through France or the Netherlands following Brexit, a statement from the airline said.

An ATV is a document that grants access to a traveller to pass through the international zone of an airport, without entering the country’s territory.

“As of January 1, 2021, citizens of the following countries who are holders of a British visa, long-stay visa, or a residence permit issued by the British authorities will need to be in possession of an airport transit visa (ATV) if they transit through France and or the Netherlands,” the statement read.

The airline through the statement also said citizens of the affected countries with British visas, long-stay visas, or British residence permits must still have ATV to pass through France or the Netherlands.

The affected countries include Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Ghana.

Others include Guinea, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Mauritania, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Senegal, Syria, Palestinians, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Sri Lanka.

However, the airline said citizens of the listed countries holding a visa or residence permit from Canada, Japan, the USA or any other European country, in addition to a UK visa/residence permit are allowed to travel through France or the Netherlands without an ATV.

Recall that on December 24, the UK clinched a Brexit trade deal with the European Union (EU). The UK ceased to be a full member of the EU in January, following the Brexit vote on June 23, 2016.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Stay Connected
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here