From Government House To The Green Chamber: See Ex-Governors, Governors Jostling For Senate Seat - Matrixliveng
From Government House To The Green Chamber: See Ex-Governors, Governors Jostling For Senate Seat

From Government House To The Green Chamber: See Ex-Governors, Governors Jostling For Senate Seat

Come 2023, no fewer than 20 former and serving governors will be jostling for Senatorial seats at the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly, The Matrix in this report profiles them.

Orji Uzor Kalu

The Majority Whip, Orji Uzor Kalu, is seeking re-election to the Senate. He served as Governor of Abia State from 1999-2007. He was

Godswill Akpabio

Godswill Akpabio, the former Governor of Akwa-Ibom State from 2007-2015 was in the 8th Assembly. He lost his re-election bid but was compensated with a Ministerial slot, a position he resigned from to contest for the Presidential ticket of the APC.

At the convention, Mr Akpabio stepdown and endorsed Bola Tinubu, the eventual winner of the primary.

Kashim Shettima

Kashim Shettima, the former Governor of Borno State (2011-2019) is also seeking re-election to the Senate.

Adams Oshiomhole

Former APC National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole is also seeking to go to the Senate. The former Governor of Edo State is seeking election as a first timer. He had earlier shown interest in the Presidency before back-pedaling and settling for a senate seat instead

Danjuma Goje

Danjuma Goje, despite the supremacy battle with Governor Inuwa Yahaya, has gotten a nod to recontest Gombe Central Senatorial District election.

Mr Goje served as Gombe State governor from 2003 to 2011. He was first elected to the Senate in 2011 and re-elected in 2015 and 2019.

Senator Kabiru Gaya

Kabiru Gaya served as Governor of Kano State in the third republic from 1992 to 1993. He has been in the Senate since 2007 and has gotten the nod to recontest Kano South Senatorial District.

Umaru Tanko Al-Makura

Tanko Almakura was the governor of Nasarawa State from 2011-2015. He moved to the Senate in 2015 after his tenure as governor. In March, Mr Almakura sought to transition to party administration when he contested the position of National Chairman of the APC. He, however, stepped down for Abdullahi Adamu.

Otunba Gbenga Daniel

Gbenga Daniel was a former Governor of Ogun State. Mr Daniel served as governor of his state from 2003-2011. The former Governor of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamako also got a nod to re-contest Sokoto North senatorial district. He was governor from 2007-2015.

Ibrahim Gaidam

Ibrahim Geidam, the former governor of Yobe State also got the nod of the APC to recontest Yobe East senatorial district. He was governor from 2011 to 2019.

Abdulaziz Yari

Abdulaziz Yari, the former Governor of Zamfara State, won the 2019 election to the Senate. However, a court decision disqualified all APC candidates in the election.

For the past four years, he has been engaging in a supremacy battle with his successor, Bello Matawella. Mr Yari got the senatorial ticket as part of the political compromise between himself and the governor.

Abubakar Atiku Bagudu

Governor Abubakar Bagudu will be rounding off his second term next year, and he is seeking to be at the Red Chamber by representing Kebbi Central. Former Governor Adamu Aliero, who currently represents that district, defected to the PDP after he was denied the return ticket.

Abubakar Sani Bello

Sani Bello the governor of Niger State will also be completing his tenure by 2023. Like some of his colleagues, his eyes are set on the Red Chamber. He is seeking to represent Niger North in the upper chamber.

Dave Umahi

David Umahi, the governor of Ebonyi State, contested the APC presidential election. However, he lost to the eventual winner.

Darius Ishaku

Taraba State’s Governor Darius Ishaku has also accepted to contest for a senatorial seat to continue the good work he is doing for his people.

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi

Enugu State Gov Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi will also be hoping to move from the government house to the Green Chamber after emerging as the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party for Enugu North senatorial zone ahead of the 2023 general elections. Gov Ugwuanyi emerged unopposed as the incumbent, Senator Chukwuka Utazi, about a month ago, ceded his senatorial ambition to Gov Ugwuanyi as a mark of respect.

Simon Lalong

Plateau State Governor Simon Lalong has also indicated his interest to run for Plateau South senatorial election in 2023.

Samuel Ortom

Benue State Governor Samuel Ortom is one of the second term governors that have indicated that he would make the transition from the Benue State Government House to the Senate chamber next year.

Aminu Tambuwal

Tambuwal was a frontline presidential aspirant of the PDP. However, he withdrew from the race at the last minute to throw his weight behind the eventual winner, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar. In return, he is heading for the Senate representing Sokoto South Senatorial District.

Theodore Orji

The immediate past Governor of Abia State and Senator representing Abia Central, Senator Theodore Orji is also seeking re-election.

Ibikunle Amosun

His is a story of from the Senate to the Government House and back to the Senate. Ibikunle Amosun is a Nigerian politician, former governor of Ogun State and two-term senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He first served as an elected senator for Ogun Central district of Ogun State, Nigeria from April 2003 to April 2007, before emerging as governor of Ogun State. After serving his two terms, he returned to the Senate in 2019. He is seeking re-election after withdrawing from the Presidential Race.

This list is not exhaustive as there are some names still missing on the list.

Leave feedback about this

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :