Olubadan stool: Ex-Oyo Senator, Lekan Balogun to succeed Oba Adetunji

Olubadan stool: Ex-Oyo Senator, Lekan Balogun to succeed Oba Adetunji

By Babajide Okeowo

The present Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Senator Lekan Balogun, from Ali-Iwo Compound has become the cynosure of all eyes as the likely successor to Oba Saliu Adetunji, Aje Ogungunniso I, who breathed his last at 1 am today at the University College Hospital (UCH), Ibadan, Oyo State.The traditional structure of ascension to the throne of Olubadan has been well-arranged such that the chief that will succeed any sitting Olubadan would have known himself, if God blesses such chief with long life and he does not die before the reigning Olubadan.

Lekan Balogun, as fondly called, represented Oyo Central senatorial district between 1999 and 2003.

Balogun, who was promoted from Mogaji to Ajia Olubadan few decades ago, had earlier worked as a lecturer at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State.

Balogun’s younger brother, Dr. Muhammed Kola Balogun, is currently representing Oyo South Senatorial District in the National Assembly.

Balogun, a doctor of philosophy holder, is a native of Ali-Iwo compound in Ibadan North East Local Government Area of Oyo State.Balogun is currently the Otun Olubadan of Ibadan land and is currently the most senior chief in Ibadan land.

He is to succeed the monarch in accordance with Ibadan tradition, DAILY POST said.

Our correspondent concluded that there are approximately 34 steps to climb to enter the Olubadan City Council.

All board members are potential future Olubadans with the exception of Iyalode.

The DAILY POST correspondent concluded that to enter the council, you have to go up from Mogaji either by one of the two lines; Olubadan (civilian line) or Balogun (military line).

The list of current chiefs of rank in Ibadan obtained by DAILY POST on Sunday confirmed that Balogun is the next person to take the throne.

Here is the list of the highest chiefs placed next to the Olubadan in the hierarchy.

Grand Chief Mashood Olalekan Balogun – Otun Olubadan

Grand Chief Akinloye Owolabi Olakunlehin – Balogun from Ibadanland

Grand Chief Tajudeen Abimbola Ajibola – Otun Balogun from Ibadanland

Senior Chief Senator Rashidi Adewolu Ladoja – Osi Olubadan

Grand Chief Eddy Oyewole – Asipa Olubadan

Grand Chef Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe – Osi Balogun

Grand Chief Abiodun Kola-Daisi – Eekerin Olubadan

Grand chef Salaudeen Hamidu Ajibade – Eekarun Olubadan

Olubadan stool: former Oyo senator Lekan Balogun succeeds Oba Adetunji

He is to succeed the monarch in line with Ibadan tradition, DAILY POST gathered.

Our correspondent gathered that there are about 34 steps to climb to get into the Olubadan In Council.

All the members of the council are potential future Olubadans with the exception of Iyalode

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com