Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket - Matrixliveng
Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket

Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket


Former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has won the presidential ticket of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) for the 2023 general elections.


He scored over 50 per cent of the total votes cast to defeat his opponents.

He defeated his closest contenders, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and vice president, Yemi Osinbajo, who got 316 and 235 votes respectively to come second and third.


Senate President, Ahmed Lawan came fourth with 152 votes while Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello scored 47 votes.


The duo of Cross Rivers Governor, Ben Ayade; and Ebonyi State Governor Dave Umahi scored 37 and 38 votes respectively.


The trio of Pastor Tunde Bakare, Rochas Okorocha and Ikeobasi Mokelu recorded zero votes from the delegates.


The winner is expected to be declared in a few minutes.


Fourteen aspirants in the race are Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.


Nine aspirants had earlier withdrawn from the race including Mrs Uju Kennedy-Ohnenye, Dr Felix Nicholas, former Gov. Godswill Akpabio, former Governor Ibikunle Amosun, and former Speaker Dimeji Bankole, Sen. Ajayi Boroffice, Governor Muhammad Badaru, Sen. Ken Nnamani and Governor Kayode Fayemi.


Tinubu will slug it out with Atiku Abubakar, the flagbearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Peter Obi, Labour Party’s candidate and Rabiu Kwankwaso, the candidates of the New Nigeria Peoples Party and others.

Leave feedback about this